TMNT NIGHT

This isn’t my normal type of post, but the kids and I had so much fun, I though I’d share.  Last night we had a great Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle night!  My youngest daughter loves all things ninja turtle, although she’s never seen the cartoon or any other video representation, until last night.  Her birthday was last week and she wanted a ninja turtle theme, but we had the party at a children’s museum, so they did all the decorating and treat bags.  So last night I decided to surprise her with a TMNT night.

For us the most important part of a theme is FOOD!  My oldest even told me once, “Its not fun if there is no food involved.”  Pizza would be the obvious choice, but we had just had pizza two nights ago and my idea was cuter.  I started with hot dog turtles.  Now, when I looked this up on line, all I could find was bacon turtles.  You take a hamburger, place hot dogs in it and then wrap the whole thing in bacon.  Since I got the meat sweats just looking at the picture, I decided to modify this idea a bit.  We kept the hot dog and I cut crescent rolls to a turtle shell shape for above and below the hot dogs. I think they turned out pretty cute!

 We also had toxic waste (lemonade with about 5 drops of food coloring in the whole bottle).

And Mommy had her own toxic sludge (margarita baby)

When we were all done with dinner we watched the 1990s ninja turtles movie.  There’s a 2014 version on HULU right now, but the turtles look like roids were mixed in with the toxic waste, I prefer classics, and I knew the old one was kid appropriate.   We loved it, although I was a little disappointed that I remembered wrong and Vanilla Ice wasn’t in this one.  I love that cheesy rap scene! “Go Ninja, Go Ninja, Go!”

We finished the night off with turtle sundaes!

Leave a Reply

